Day Three of the 87th Kansas FFA Convention – Friday, May 29

FFA members filled McCain for the last day of the 87th Kansas FFA Convention. Members anxiously awaited the results of the Triple Crown chapter, State Star winner and State Offices.

Fifth Session

unnamedMembers were challenged to “Choose Happiness” by Sentinel Nicholas Meyer as he gave his retiring address. After the presentation of the Kansas FFA Foundation Board of Trustees was recognized, State Senator Garrett Love, shared special remarks with Kansas FFA.

The 218 State Degree Recipients were recognized on stage for their milestone accomplishment within the association. Lindsay Carpenter of the Axtell FFA Chapter, won the John Deere Gator 625iXUV.

Lindy Bilberry, chairwoman of the Nominating Committee reported the 2015-2016 State Officer Slate. Each slated candidate was then given their turn to present their speech to the audience of FFA members and voting delegates.

Sixth Session

The State FFA Band and Chorus filled McCain with their sweet music and melodies during their encore performances. All members thanked the Kansas FFA Foundation Sponsors for their generosity before President Taylor Green retired with her motivating address titled “Wait and See.”

State StarsChapman received the coveted Triple Crown for the fourth consecutive year. The “Stars Over Kansas” pageant continued with the announcement of the 2015 State Stars. 

All members were on the edge of their seats as President Lindy Bilberry read the names of the newly elected 2015-2016 Kansas FFA State Officers. The 2014-2015 Officers were officially retired and thanked one last time by the members of Kansas FFA for their dedication to the organization. After the installment of the new officers, President Karl Wilhelm took the podium to present the closing remarks and adjourned the 87th Kansas FFA Convention.

Congratulations to all winners and officers during the convention. See you all next year!