Day Two of the 89th Kansas FFA Convention – Thursday, June 1

Watch the video recap here!

FFA members returned for the second day of the 89th Kansas FFA Convention where members heard remarks from three of the 2016–2017 state officers, awaited the results from several LDEs, celebrated proficiency award winners and more.

Second Session

During the second session, members heard from State Secretary Grace Luebcke as she delivered her retiring address, “Get Back On.” National FFA Vice President Ashley Willits also traveled to Kansas to share her remarks with Kansas FFA.

Members also celebrated the accomplishments of half of this year’s state Proficiency Award Winners and recognized chapters with the National Chapter Awards in Building Communities.

Announcing SAE Grant recipients, Leadership Information awardees, Helping Community Grow Chapters and the Kansas Farm Bureau Community Grant recipients concluded the session happenings.

Third Session

Laser lights and music filled McCain Auditorium to signal the start of the third session of the Kansas FFA Convention. Clara Wicoff, Kansas FFA vice president, gave her retiring address, “Small Things.

The Chapman FFA chapter won first place in the state scrapbook competition. The scrapbook competition gives FFA members a chance to showcase their chapter’s accomplishments throughout the last year.

Natalie Harris of the Chapman FFA chapter earned top honors in the Employability Skills Leadership Development Event (LDE). The event challenges members to prepare a detailed resume and professional application and to participate in mock interviews. After finishing first in Kansas, Harris is eligible to compete at nationals.

The announcement of National Chapter Awards in the Growing Leaders division followed.

Dr. Michael Wesch honored convention attendees with his insights as a renowned cultural anthropologist and distinguished professor at Kansas State University.

Members of Kansas FFA received recognition for their academic achievements through scholarships from Kansas FFA Alumni, Orscheln, Midwest Ford and the National FFA Association.

The second half of proficiency award winners were also celebrated for their accomplishments for their SAEs.

Fourth Session

The fourth session followed the incredible performances of the State FFA Convention Chorus and State FFA Convention Band. After the concert, Katelyn Bohnenblust, State FFA Treasurer, gave her retiring address “Love Does.”

Thomas Hemmer, Tom Meek and Susan Metzger were awarded Honorary Kansas FFA Degrees while Sharon Schwartz received the VIP Award. Each of these individuals has made outstanding contributions to the FFA, agriculture and agriculture education.

John Kennedy, from the Jackson Heights FFA chapter, was announced as the winner of the Kansas FFA Extemporaneous Speaking LDE. Dowd excelled with the ability to present on a current agricultural issue after only 30 minutes of preparation.

After submitting a manuscript and bibliography, FFA members competing in the Prepared Public Speaking LDE present a 6- to 8-minute speech and answer questions about their selected speech topic. Michael DowdSpring Hill FFA chapter, was awarded first place with his speech.

Alexa McCurdy of the West Franklin FFA chapter earned first place in the Discussion Meet event.

National Chapter Awards were awarded in the area of Strengthening Agriculture.

Wrapping up the evening, Melvin Adams, the fourth session’s keynote speaker, gave FFA members motivation and inspiration.

The fifth session of the 89th Kansas FFA Convention will begin at 8 a.m., Friday, June 2 in McCain Auditorium.